WXC: Women’s Cross Country Captures Sun Belt Championship

MXC: Men’s Cross Country Finishes Second at Sun Belt Championships
October 28, 2018
WSOC: App State Hosts Little Rock in Regular-Season Finale
October 28, 2018
WXC: Women’s Cross Country Captures Sun Belt Championship


MOBILE, Ala. – Five Mountaineers earned All-Sun Belt honors as Appalachian State women’s cross country captured its second Sun Belt Women’s Cross Country title in program history on Saturday.
App State finished with 45 points, edging out Texas State for the championship by one point. Arkansas State was third with 86 points and Georgia State was fourth with 143 points.
The Mountaineers also won the Sun Belt title in 2016.

“It’s a flip of emotions, winning a tight race this year after losing a heartbreaker last season,” said head coach Michael Curcio. “I’m excited for this team, especially our four seniors. They will be hard to replace but have shown great leadership for our newcomers.”
For the fifth time this season, Phylissa Greeley led App State across the finish line, finishing fourth with a PR time of 17:35.08. Izzy Evely was right behind in fifth place with a PR of 17:58.4. Both runners earn First Team All-Sun Belt honors for their efforts. In addition, Evely also earned Sun Belt Freshman of the Year honors as the top freshman finisher in the conference.
Elisa Sargent earned Second Team All-Sun Belt accolades with a ninth-place finish in a PR time of 17:51.48. It marks the first All-Sun Belt honor of her career.
Samantha Kolor placed 13th in 18:01.97 and Emily Fedders was 14th in 18:03.72. Both runners were named Third Team All-Sun Belt. Kolor garners in her first All-Sun Belt honor, while Fedders earns her third.
Katelyn Butler was 20th in 18:26.38 and Sarah Hajnos finished 29th in 18:50.57.

“Every player on this team contributed to this championship,” added Curcio. “The whole team worked hard from our first time trial and pushed each other to be the best they can be.” 

Curcio was also tabbed as Sun Belt Coach of the Year in voting done by the league’s head coaches. It marks the second time he has been honored with this award.

Combined with 10 Southern Conference title, Appalachian State has now won 12 conference championships in program history.

Final Standings
1. Appalachian State, 45
2. Texas State, 46
3. Arkansas State, 86
4. Georgia State, 143
5. South Alabama, 166
6. Coastal Carolina, 179
7. Troy, 184
8. Little Rock, 186
9. Georgia Southern, 214
10. UT Arlington, 263
11. Louisiana, 294
12. UL Monroe, 322