WREST: Six Mountaineers Medal at Southern Scuffle

WBB: South Alabama 81, App State 66 (Final Stats/Recap)
January 3, 2020
MBB: App State Falls to Georgia State
January 3, 2020
WREST: Six Mountaineers Medal at Southern Scuffle


CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. — Highlighted by fourth-place finishes from Matt Zovistoski and Jonathan Millner, App State had six wrestlers medal to tie for the third-highest total among 35 teams at the 2020 Southern Scuffle.
In addition to Zovistoski (157 pounds) and Millner (149), the other Mountaineers to reach the medal stand were unattached true freshman Caleb Smith (fifth place, 125), Cary Miller (sixth place, heavyweight), Thomas Flitz (seventh place, 174) and true freshman Sean Carter (seventh, 125).
App State doubled its number of medal winners from each of the previous three years, and the only teams with more than six medal winners in 2020 were No. 6 NC State and No. 9 Oklahoma State. The field included eight teams with Top 25 rankings, and the Mountaineers’ total of 67 points ranked ninth.
With a pair of true freshmen placing fifth and seventh at 125, it was an impressive showing from both Smith and Carter, who claimed seventh with a 3-2 decision against seventh-ranked Nic Aguilar of Rutgers. Carter produced a second-period takedown, and he had a 24-second riding time advantage when he started the third period in the down position with the score tied at 2-all.
Aguilar stayed on top of Carter for the first 1:17 of the third period — putting him just seven seconds away from a minute advantage that would have put him in position for point — when Carter delivered his tiebreaking escape with 47 seconds remaining.
Zovistoski won seven of his first eight matches at McKenzie Arena, avenging a close Round of 16 loss to North Dakota State’s Luke Weber and reaching the third-place match by getting a tiebreaking takedown with 1:03 left in a 7-6 decision against Weber on Thursday afternoon. Zovistoski lost 3-1 against Oklahoma State’s Wyatt Sheets on Thursday night.
Millner’s 5-2 tournament included a win against 15th-ranked Requir van der Merwe of Stanford and a 6-2 decision against Chattanooga’s Tanner Smith. That win sent him to the third-place match before George Mason’s Colston Diblasi won by fall.
Miller was a second away from reaching the championship final with a one-point win against 12th-ranked Gannon Gremmel of Iowa State, but officials ruled that Gremmel executed a takedown as time expired. He went 3-3 in Chattanooga with three dominant wins Wednesday.
Smith went 5-2, taking fifth thanks to a medical forfeit. He posted a takedown in the first 10 seconds of a 9-3 semifinal loss to fourth-ranked Nick Piccininni of Oklahoma State and lost 2-0 against Navy’s Logan Treaster in the next match.
Flitz capped a 5-2 showing in Chattanooga with a 6-5 decision against Lehigh’s Jake Logan in the seventh-place match. Flitz broke the tie with an escape to open the third period.
The 2019-20 wrestling season is presented by Hungry Howies. App State returns to action Jan. 9 at Gardner-Webb for its first Southern Conference dual.

Caleb Smith, Unattached (Fifth place)    
Aslan Kilic, Navy W, MD 16-8
Luke Resnick, Lehigh W, Dec 3-3 (Ride Time after TB-2)
John McGarry, VMI W, MD 13-0
Jonathan Tropea, Rider W, Dec 5-3
#4 Nick Piccininni, Oklahoma State L, Dec 9-3
Logan Treaster, Navy L, Dec 2-0
Michael McGee, Old Dominion W, MF  
Carson Smith    
Jackson Disario, Stanford L, Fall 2:42
Logan Heil, Cleveland State W, Dec 8-6
Tomasso Frezza, Binghamton W, Dec 8-3
Sean Carter, App State L, Dec 9-4
Sean Carter (Seventh place)    
Carson Sauriol, Binghamton W, MD 12-3
Luke Werner, Lock Haven L, Dec 6-5
Carson Smith, App State W, Dec 9-4
Zurich Storm, Campbell W, Dec 7-5
Jonathan Tropea, Rider W, Dec 6-5
Sam Latona, Virginia Tech L, MD 10-1
#7 Nic Aguilar, Rutgers W, Dec 3-2
Codi Russell    
Ramazan Attasauov, Iowa State L, MD 12-1
Wade Cummings, Chattanooga W, Dec 7-2
Jacob Allen, Navy W, Dec 3-2
Casey Cobb, Navy L, Dec 10-6
Anthony Brito    
Caleb Rea, West Virginia L, Dec 11-4
Sawyer Degen, North Dakota State W, Dec 3-2
Lenny Petersen, Air Force L, Dec 6-4
Bradley Irwin    
Anthony Sparacio, Binghamton L, Dec 8-4
Daniel Moran, Lehigh L, Dec 7-5
Jonathan Millner (Fourth place)    
Matt Fields, NC State W, MD 10-2
Thomas Lisher, Little Rock W, Dec 7-2
Justin Yorkdale, George Mason W, MD 11-1
#15 Requir van der Merwe, Stanford W, Dec 4-3
#18 Andrew Alirez, Northern Colorado L, Dec 9-5
Tanner Smith, Chattanooga W, Dec 6-2
Colston Diblasi, George Mason L, Fall 4:26
Matt Zovistoski (Fourth place)    
Nico O’Dor, Cleveland State W, Dec 2-0
Jose Champagne, Little Rock W, Dec 8-4
Luke Weber, North Dakota State L, Dec 5-4
Taylor Parks, Gardner-Webb W, Dec 6-3
Trey Brisker, Air Force W, Dec 3-1
Kolby Ho, George Mason W, Dec 6-3
Jared Franek, North Dakota State W, Dec 4-1
Luke Weber, North Dakota State W, Dec 7-6
Wyatt Sheets, Oklahoma State L, Dec 3-1
Will Formato    
Nick Klussis, West Virginia W, Dec 2-1 (SV-1, stalling)
Chase Straw, Iowa State L, Dec 6-3
Jackson Turley, Rutgers W, Dec 10-6
Andrew Shomers, Oklahoma State L, Dec 5-2
Barrett Blakely    
Billy Higgins, Northern Colorado L, Dec 8-6
A.J. Alford, The Citadel W, MD 15-1
Luke Nicksic, VMI W, MD 15-4
Cody Surratt, Air Force L, Fall 1:18
Thomas Flitz (Seventh place)    
Tyler Wiederholt, Air Force W, Dec 3-1
#17 Daniel Bullard, NC State L, Dec 4-1
Billy Higgins, Northern Colorado W, Dec 10-3
Jared Siegrist, Lock Haven W, Dec 8-5
Spencer Carey, Navy W, MF  
Chris Foca, Finger Lakes L, Dec 8-5
Jake Logan, Lehigh W, Dec 6-5
Julian Gorring    
Deandre Nassar, Cleveland State L, Dec 3-2
Jackson Moomau, West Virginia L, Dec 2-1
Mason Fiscella    
Bryan Martin, Rider W, Dec 9-3
#6 Lou Deprez, Binghamton L, Fall 0:24
Jackson Moomau, West Virginia W, Dec 3-2
Colt Doyle, Oregon State L, MD 15-2
Paul Carson    
Jacob Koser, Navy L, Dec 4-0
Jarrad Dixon, Oregon State W, Dec 8-3
Roderick Davis, Gardner-Webb L, Dec 4-3
Michael Burchell    
Brandon Metz, North Dakota State L, MD 11-3
Austin Harris, Oklahoma State W, MD 14-6
David Showunmi, Stanford W, Dec 14-8
Chris Beck, VMI L, Dec 4-0
Cary Miller (Sixth place)    
Robert Winters, Northern Colorado W, Fall 0:38
Colin Lawler, NC State W, Dec 8-1
Dan Stibral, North Dakota State W, MD 8-0
#12 Gannon Gremmel, Iowa State L, Dec 3-2
Brandon Metz, North Dakota State L, Fall 2:17
Lewis Fernandes, Finger Lakes L, Dec 9-3