Volleyball Lands Four All-Sun Belt Honorees; Porter Named Newcomer of the Year

Dillard Wayne Jones
November 13, 2018
Financial News
November 13, 2018
Volleyball Lands Four All-Sun Belt Honorees; Porter Named Newcomer of the Year


NEW ORLEANS, La. — Highlighted by Becky Porter being named Sun Belt Newcomer of the Year, four members of the Appalachian State volleyball team earned All-Sun Belt honors in voting conducted by the league’s head coaches.

The four all-conference honorees are tied for the most for the program since joining the league in 2014 (also had four in 2015). App State also ranked second in the league with four All-Sun Belt honorees, trailing only Texas State, who had five.

Porter was also tabbed as a First Team All-Sun Belt honoree to go along with her Newcomer of the Year award. Joining Porter on the First Team was outside hitter Emma Longley. Libero Emma Reilly and middle blocker Kara Spicer were named Second Team All-Sun Belt.

Porter, a three-time Sun Belt Setter of the Week award winner, joined the Mountaineers this season from N.C. State. She has a team-high nine double-doubles and leads the Sun Belt in assists per set, averaging 10.71. She posted 40 or more assists in 11 contests this season, including a career-high 62 on Sept. 7 against Utah Valley.

Longley has proven to be one of the top offensive players in the Sun Belt. She ranks third in the conference in kills per set, averaging 3.76. Longley has five double-doubles on the season and recorded double digit kills in 22 of 28 contests.

Reilly played the whole season as the Mountaineer libero. She recorded double digit digs in 26 matches, including the last 18 contests. She sits second in the conference in service aces per set (0.39) and third in digs per set (4.42).

Spicer notched double digit kills in 13 matches on the season. She leads the team blocks per set (0.98) and ranks second in hitting percentage at .289.

Appalachian State finished 21-7 in the regular season and captured the Sun Belt East Division title with a 13-3 mark. By winning the division title, the Black and Gold receive a double bye in the Sun Belt Tournament and will open play on Saturday at 2:30 p.m. against an opponent that has yet to be determined on ESPN+.

All-Sun Belt First Team
Emma Longley, Appalachian State 
Becky Porter, Appalachian State
Veronica Marin, Little Rock 
Carlisa May, Arkansas State
Sydney Alvis, Coastal Carolina
Kyla Manning, Coastal Carolina
Anett Nemeth, Coastal Carolina 
Madison Hill, UTA 
Madison Daigle, Texas State
Emily DeWalt, Texas State
Cheyenne Huskey, Texas State
Janell Fitzgerald, Texas State 

All-Sun Belt Second Team
Emma Reilly, Appalachian State
Kara Spicer, Appalachian State 
Carol Barbosa, Little Rock 
Ellie Watkins, Arkansas State 
Lauren Reichard, Georgia Southern
Hanna Rovira, Louisiana
Hali Wisnoskie, Louisiana
Kelley Hartman, South Alabama 
Cheyenne Hayes, Troy
Zhanelle Geathers, UTA
Kylie Jedlicka, UTA 
Amy Pflughaupt, Texas State
Sun Belt Player of the Year
Veronica Marin, Little Rock
Sun Belt Offensive Player of the Year
Carlisa May, Arkansas State

Sun Belt Defensive Player of the Year
Sydney Alvis, Coastal Carolina

Sun Belt Setter and Freshman of the Year
Emily DeWalt, Texas State (Fr., S, Helotes, Texas)

Sun Belt Newcomer of the Year
Becky Porter, Appalachian State 
Sun Belt Coach of the Year
Karen Chisum, Texas State