TRACK: Seven Women, Four Men Named All-Sun Belt in Track & Field

AP Sports
February 28, 2019
SB: Apps Prepare for Purple/Gold Challenge at Lipscomb
March 1, 2019
TRACK: Seven Women, Four Men Named All-Sun Belt in Track & Field


NEW ORLEANS, La. – Four members of the Appalachian State men’s indoor track & field team were named All-Sun Belt, the league announced Thursday.

Jordan DaleElliott Graves and Tristian Shaver all were named First Team All-Sun Belt, while Gable Dershem was tabbed Third Team All-Conference.

Dale earns his second straight all-conference honor after finishing third in the high jump last season for all-conference accolades. He tied his PR with a mark of 6-10.75 (2.10m) at this year’s Sun Belt Championship to win the event. He becomes the 11th indoor champion in the high jump in program history.

Graves earned his first indoor hurdle title and first All-Sun Belt indoor honor in his career, after winning the 60-meter hurdles. He crossed the finish line in 8.07 seconds, capturing the championship by .01 seconds. He becomes the fifth App State student-athlete to win a conference title in the 60-meter hurdles and first since Stanley Broaden in 2013. Graves’ time of 8.07 seconds also is tied for the sixth fastest time in the event in program history.

Tristian Shaver became the 16th student-athlete in program history to win the indoor pole vault, clearing 17-0.00 (5.18m) in a jump off. He becomes the first champion in the event for the program since 2014 and earns his first indoor all-conference accolade of his career.

Dershem earns his second straight Third Team All-Sun Belt selection. This year, he posted a PR time of 14:44.12 in the 5,000-meter run to finish third in the event. His time also ranked as the ninth fastest time in the event in program history.

The Mountaineers finished sixth of eight teams at the Sun Belt Championships with 63 points.

All-Sun Belt Teams
First Team
Jordan Dale, Appalachian State
Elliott Graves, Appalachian State
Tristian Shaver, Appalachian State
Carter Shell, Arkansas State
Keshawn Andrews, Little Rock
Emilio Medina, Little Rock
Charles Okeze, Little Rock
Hannes Burger, Louisiana
Dominique Williams, Louisiana
Christian Ellis, South Alabama
Ben Collerton, Texas State
T’Mond Johnson, Texas State
Erik Martinsson, UTA
D’Undre Mitchell, UTA
Lucas Van Klaveren, UTA
Brenden Wallace, UTA
Second Team
Michael Carr, Arkansas State
Eron Carter, Arkansas State
Hayden Hampton, Arkansas State
Heinrich Herbst, Arkansas State
Frank Massey, Arkansas State
Jermie Walker, Arkansas State
Jalen Boyd, South Alabama
Javen Jackson, South Alabama
Xavier Rogers, South Alabama
Cameron Stewart, South Alabama
Ronnie Briscoe Jr., Texas State
Brandon Busby, Texas State
Noah Herring, Texas State
Cade Michael, Texas State
Justin Domangue, UTA
Victor Fincher, UTA
Deontre Haynes, UTA
Third Team
Gable Dershem, Appalachian State
K’Den Fortune-Johnson, Arkansas State
Amari James, Arkansas State
Darrian Lockett, Arkansas State
Tiaan Steenkamp, Arkansas State
Kyle Baudoin, Louisiana
John Joseph, Louisiana
Graham Sokol, Louisiana
Graham Collins, South Alabama
Sean Collins, South Alabama
Noah Mumme, South Alabama
Chris Taylor, South Alabama
Brandon Busby, Texas State
Joseph Meade, Texas State
Eric Hawkins, ULM
Sam Healy, ULM


Women’s Recap:


NEW ORLEANS, La. — Seven Appalachian State women’s indoor track & field student-athletes were named All-Sun Belt, the league announced on Thursday.

Hana Ratcliffe earned Second Team All-Sun Belt honors, while Izzy EvelyKylee FradyPhylissa GreeleyAraybian LillyAshley Muschiatti and Elisa Sargent were named Third Team All-Sun Belt.

Ratcliffe earns her first indoor all-conference accolade after a second-place finish in the 3,000-meter run in a PR time of 9:41.39. Her time also marks the second fastest time run in the event in program history.

Greeley turned in a third-place performance in the one-mile run to earn her first indoor all-conference award. Her time of 4:54.75 ranks as the fourth fastest time in the event in program history.

Muschiatti garners in her first All-Sun Belt honor, after turning in a third-place performance in the weight throw, covering a PR distance of 58-7.50 (17.87m). Her mark moves her into fifth place in the weight throw in program history.

The DMR tandem of Evely, Frady, Lilly and Sargent captured third place in the event with a time of 11:56.22. The all-conference selection are the first for all four of the runners.

App State finished seventh of 12 teams at the Sun Belt Championships with a total of 56 points.

First Team
Emma Nwofor, Arkansas State
Caitland Smith, Arkansas State
Angela Alonso, Georgia State
Reagann Leleux, Louisiana
Shalei Matthews, Louisiana
Emilie Berge, South Alabama
Autavia Fluker, South Alabama
Tramesha Hardy, Texas State
Leslie Romero, Texas State
Tiarra Bailey, Troy
Gemma Finch, Troy
Tanner Guest, Troy
Madison Kennedy, Troy
Precious Ogba, Troy
Brianna Sam, ULM
Alexus Henry, UTA
Second Team
Hana Ratcliffe, Appalachian State
Evangelynn Harris, Arkansas State
Lotte Meyberg, Georgia State
Shanieke Watson, Little Rock
Michaela Preachuk, South Alabama
Javlyn Cameron, Texas State
Sydney Cole, Texas State
Dawnshae Evans, Texas State
Naomi Ferdinand, Texas State
Sadi Giles, Texas State
Breonna Hall, Texas State
Tina Sierra, Texas State
Kylah Smith, Texas State
Abigail Kelly-Salo, UTA
Juleen Lewis, UTA
Third Team
Izzy Evely, Appalachian State
Kylee Frady, Appalachian State
Phylissa Greeley, Appalachian State
Araybian Lilly, Appalachian State
Ashley Muschiatti, Appalachian State
Elisa Sargent, Appalachian State
Osereme Erewele, Arkansas State
Nuria Ramirez, Georgia State
Alexus Shaw, Georgia State
Kimberly Rushford, Louisiana
Juliette Smith, Louisiana
Tina Douglas, Texas State
Devina Schneider, Texas State
Samara Nelson, Troy
Micaiah Dendy, ULM
Mikayla Koester, UTA
Brianna McClure, UTA
Tatyana Terrell, UTA
Vanessa Ugorji, UTA