Roof Nominated for Broyles Award as Nation’s Top Assistant

Husky 1st Round Playoff Game this Friday
November 13, 2019
App State 3, Howard 0 – Final Stats/Recap
November 14, 2019
Roof Nominated for Broyles Award as Nation’s Top Assistant


BOONE, N.C. — App State defensive coordinator Ted Roof is one of 41 candidates nationally for the 2019 Broyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coaches. 
App State and five ranked Power Five conference teams are tied for first place nationally with four games apiece in which they’ve allowed seven points or less. The Mountaineers have a 42-7 win against East Tennessee State, a 17-7 road win against Louisiana, a 52-7 win against ULM and a 30-3 road win against South Alabama.
App State ranks 18th nationally in scoring defense at 19.1 points per game and leads the Sun Belt by allowing 331.4 yards per game. The defensive effort has helped the Mountaineers earn a top 25 ranking from both the College Football Playoff committee and Amway Coaches Poll.
The Broyles Award was first handed out in 1996, and this is the third nomination for Roof, who received similar recognition as Georgia Tech’s defensive coordinator in 2000 and 2013.
The 41 nominees in this year’s class were selected from approximately 1,500 assistant coaches representing 130 FBS programs across the country. The Broyles Award selection process includes the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA), broadcasters, a college football hall-of-fame selection committee and current college head coaches.
ALABAMA – Steve Sarkisian, Offensive Coordinator/QB
APPALACHIAN STATE – Ted Roof, Defensive Coordinator
ARKANSAS STATE – Keith Heckendorf, Offensive Coordinator/QB
AUBURN – Kevin Steele, Defensive Coordinator
BALL STATE – Joey Lynch, Offensive Coordinator/QB
BAYLOR – Phil Snow, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
BRIGHAM YOUNG – Aaron Roderick, Passing Game Coordinator/QB
CALIFORNIA – Tim DeRuyter, Defensive Coordinator
CENTRAL MICHIGAN – Charlie Frye, Offensive Coordinator/QB
CINCINNATI – Marcus Freeman, Defensive Coordinator
CLEMSON – Jeff Scott, Co-Offensive Coordinator/WR
FLORIDA – Billy Gonzalez, Wide Receivers
GEORGIA – Dan Lanning, Defensive Coordinator/Outside LBs
GEORGIA STATE – Brad Glenn, Offensive Coordinator/QB
INDIANA – Kalen DeBoer, Offensive Coordinator/QB
IOWA – Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator/DB
IOWA STATE – Tom Manning, Offensive Coordinator/Run Game Coordinator
LOUISVILLE – Dwayne Ledfors, Offensive Line
LOUISIANA – Ron Roberts, Defensive Coordinator
LSU – Joe Brady, Passing Game Coordinator/WR
MEMPHIS – Pete Lembo, Special Teams Coordinator
MICHIGAN – Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator
MINNESOTA – Kirk Ciarrocca, Offensive Coordinator/QB
MISSOURI – Ryan Walters, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
NAVY – Brian Newberry, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
OHIO STATE – Jeff Hafley, Co-Defensive Coordinator/Secondary
OKLAHOMA – Alex Grinch, Defensive Coordinator/ Safeties
OLE MISS – Mike MacIntyre, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
OREGON – Andy Avalos, Defensive Coordinator
OREGON STATE – Brian Lindgren, Offensive Coordinator/QB
PENN STATE – Brent Pry, Defensive Coordinator/LB
PITTSBURGH – Randy Bates, Defensive Coordinator
SAN JOSÉ STATE – Ryan Gunderson, Quarterbacks/Passing Game Coordinator
SMU – Rhett Lashlee, Offensive Coordinator/QB
TROY – Ryan Pugh, Offensive Coordinator/OL
TULANE – Will Hall, Offensive Coordinator/
UAB – David Reeves, Defensive Coordinator
UCF – Randy Shannon, Defensive Coordinator
UTAH – Morgan Scalley, Defensive Coordinator/Safeties
WESTERN KENTUCKY – Clayton White, Defensive Coordinator/CB
WISCONSIN – Jim Leonhard, Defensive Coordinator