NCAB Presents Its Annual Broadcast Industry Awards

Wednesday, December 2nd
December 1, 2020
Peter Harlan Avery
December 1, 2020

NCAB Presents Its Annual Broadcast Industry Awards


RALEIGH (November 25, 2020) – The North Carolina Association of Broadcasters held its
Annual Meeting via Zoom on November 18, 2020 and awarded its Annual Broadcast Industry Awards.

2020 NCAB Hall of Fame Award Recipient: Jeff Davis

Born in Apex, Jeff Davis reached the pinnacle of the radio industry as a star at one of the best-known and
widely listened to stations in the history of the U.S.—WLS in Chicago.
Arguably no other radio station in America had more influence on the industry than WLS. It was the
station other Top-40 stations saw as a model, and Jeff Davis was one of the deejays others aspired to
emulate. Jeff has maintained his position in the industry as one of the leading voices across the entire nation. In
fact, Jeff Davis can still be heard in Raleigh, Greensboro and Greenville on a daily basis. He is also
heard on commercials across North Carolina. Today, Jeff lives in Los Angeles but his voice is everywhere on national television and radio across the

2020 NCAB Hall of Fame Award Recipient: Dave Lingafelt

Dave Lingafelt is the President and General Manager of WXRC/WAIZ/WNNC. WXRC serves the
Charlotte/Hickory markets and the western part of the State, and WNNC/WAIZ serves the Hickory
Metro area. Dave is still playing radio; he’s on the air every day with the Wacky Wake-Up Crew.
He dreamed of being on the radio as a little boy and was able to get his start at the age of 17 in his
hometown of Morganton at WMNC. Dave’s wife Janet has been an important part of his radio career, working alongside him the entire
time, and he credits her with a huge part of their success. Dave is grateful for all the people who gave him
opportunities in radio. Both in employment and in ownership, Dave tries to say thanks by passing on
opportunities to others who want to be in radio.

2020 NCAB Hall of Fame Award Recipient: Jim Nantz

Jim Nantz was born in Charlotte in 1959. He is a member of the Sports Broadcasting Hall of Fame and a
three-time Emmy Award-winner and five-time National Sportscaster of the Year.
Jim joined CBS Sports in 1985; he became part of the Network’s golf team in 1986. Jim has hosted
broadcasts of the Masters since 1988 and the PGA Championship since 1991, and he served as an anchor
of the biennial Presidents’ Cup in 1994 and 1996. Jim also has been the lead play-by-play voice for the NFL on CBS since 2004.
This year marked Jim’s 35th covering NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball. Jim has called play-by-play
on more network broadcasts of the Final Four and NCAA Championship game than any other announcer
in the tournament’s history. In 2007, Jim became the first commentator in history to complete the rare broadcasting three-feat –
calling the Super Bowl, the NCAA Men’s Final Four and the Masters, all in a span of 63 days. Nantz
once again repeated this trifecta in 2010, 2013 and 2016. In 2019, Jim completed an even rarer quintet,
calling the AFC Championship, Super Bowl, Final Four, Masters, and PGA Championship in a span of
120 days.

2020 NCAB Distinguished Service Award Recipient: Representative Virginia Foxx

For 2020, the NCAB Distinguished Service Award was presented to Representative Virginia Foxx.
Representative Foxx has been a tireless leader for the broadcast industry during her 16 years serving the
5th District of North Carolina. Throughout her time in Congress, Foxx has helped lead the national
movements to reduce federal government spending and increase government oversight and
accountability. She currently serves as the Republican Leader of the House Committee on Education and Labor. From
2013 to 2016, she served as Secretary of the House Republican Conference.
Representative Foxx is a visible leader in the House Republican Conference, where she regularly takes a
stand for the principles of individual freedom and limited government. She was also the first member of
her 2004 congressional class to introduce and pass a substantive bill in the House.
NCAB greatly appreciates Representative Foxx and her past and future support of the broadcast industry.

2020 Wade H. Hargrove Community Leadership Award: First Responders of North Carolina

The First Responders of North Carolina were honored with the 2020 Wade H. Hargrove Community
Leadership Award for their tireless, relentless efforts during the coronavirus pandemic. Since March, the
first responders of our state have worked hard to keep all the citizens of North Carolina healthy and
informed. For that, and for all our first responders do, NCAB is truly thankful.

To commemorate this award, NCAB compiled a video that was shown during the virtual Annual Meeting
and can be viewed on the NCAB Facebook and Twitter accounts.


About NCAB

The North Carolina Association of Broadcasters is a statewide organization of public and commercial
radio and television broadcast stations. The purpose of the Association is to promote closer cooperation
and understanding among members; to make possible unified effort when unity is beneficial; to protect
its members in every lawful and proper manner from injustices and unjust exactions; to encourage and
promote customs and practices which will be for the best interests of the public and the broadcasting
industry; and to help educate the public and business generally concerning the uses and values of
broadcasting advertising. Additional information is available on the NCAB website

Lisa Reynolds, Executive Director