Men’s Basketball Unveils Historic 2022-23 Schedule

Jose Francisco “Frank” Soto
July 14, 2022
Friday, July 15th
July 15, 2022

Men’s Basketball Unveils Historic 2022-23 Schedule

 

BOONE, N.C. – After the release of the Sun Belt Conference schedule on Tuesday, App State men’s basketball coach Dustin Kerns has announced the release of the full 2022-23 slate, which features a program-record of 17 home games this season.

App State will begin the season with 13 consecutive non-conference contests, all of which will be played before the holiday break. After the holidays, the Mountaineers will begin league play as the Sun Belt schedule features 18 conference games. Each team is slated to play nine games at home and nine on the road. League play will follow a Thursday-Saturday format with the exception of the final weekend; the penultimate regular season contest will be played on Wednesday, Feb. 22 and the regular season finale will be contested on Friday, Feb. 24.

Kerns realizes the importance of playing in front of the home crowd while also playing high-quality opponents. “Once again, our program is going to play a terrific non-conference schedule filled against many quality programs. We have worked really hard on getting more games here in Boone and we are excited to announce that this season we will have the most home games in the history of the program,” he said.

“Our students and fans have really helped create a home court atmosphere and we hope to continue to build on the environment here in the Holmes Center this season. We want to continue to enhance the profile on App State basketball and being invited to play in an NBA arena at the Jerry Colangelo Classic presented by the Basketball Hall of Fame will be a great experience for our program.”

“Also, regarding our series with Auburn and our game here in Boone has now been pushed to 2023 in a mutual agreement.  As always, we feel this schedule will prepare us for the always ultra-competitive Sun Belt Conference,” Kerns added.

The Mountaineers kick off the season at the Holmes Convocation Center, battling a pair of in-state foes. App State hosts Warren Wilson on Nov. 7 and then welcomes NC Central to the High Country on Nov. 10 before hitting the road for the first time against ACC-member Louisville on Nov. 15.

The team returns home the following weekend to host a trio of teams in three days: Campbell (Nov.18), Kennesaw State (Nov. 19) and Southeastern Louisiana (Nov. 20). App State then travels to ETSU on Nov. 23 before closing out November with a home contest against Furman (Nov. 29).

The Black and Gold will host Carlow on Dec. 6 before traveling to Wake Forest on Dec. 14 for their second matchup against an ACC opponent. The Mountaineers wrap up home non-conference play with a Dec. 17 contest against Regent University.

The Mountaineers will highlight the end of the non-conference schedule with a cross-country trip to Arizona. App State will play UC Santa Barbara in the Jerry Colangelo Classic on Dec. 21 at the Footprint Center, home of the NBA’s Phoenix Suns.

Following the holiday break, App State will open conference play on the road, traveling to a pair of new SBC opponents. The Mountaineers travel to Marshall on Dec. 29 and then will close out 2022 by traveling to Southern Miss on Dec. 31 for a New Year’s Eve showdown.

The Mountaineers’ open the new year with their first home conference game of the season on Jan. 5 against Coastal Carolina. They then return to the road, traveling to new Sun Belt member James Madison on Jan. 7.

The Black and Gold return home for six of their next eight games, starting with matchups against Georgia Southern on Jan. 12 and Troy on Jan. 14. The Mountaineers take to the road the following weekend, battling Coastal Carolina (Jan. 19) and Old Dominion (Jan. 21) before beginning a four-game home stand on Jan. 26 against Georgia State. The Mountaineers also host Arkansas State on Jan. 28, a Saturday matchup that features a doubleheader with the women’s program. App State will close out its homestand against Marshall on Feb. 2 and JMU on Feb. 4.

The second week of February sees the Mountaineers on the road with a game at ULM on Feb. 9 and South Alabama on Feb. 11. The last pair of home games for App State comes on Feb. 16 against Texas State and Feb. 18 against Old Dominion.

App State closes out the regular season on Feb. 22 at Georgia State and Feb. 24 at Georgia Southern.

The Sun Belt Tournament will run from Feb. 28 to March 6 in Pensacola, Fla., with the winner punching a ticket to the NCAA Tournament.

Game times will be announced at a later date.

2022-23 App State Men’s Basketball Schedule
Monday, Nov. 7 – vs. Warren Wilson
Thursday, Nov. 10 – vs. NC Central
Tuesday, Nov. 15 – at Louisville
Friday, Nov. 18 – vs. Campbell
Saturday, Nov. 19 – vs. Kennesaw State
Sunday, Nov. 20 – vs. Southeastern Louisiana
Wednesday, Nov. 23 –  at ETSU
Tuesday, Nov. 29 – vs. Furman
Friday, Dec. 2 – at Charlotte
Tuesday, Dec. 6 – vs. Carlow
Wednesday, Dec. 14 – at Wake Forest
Saturday, Dec. 17 – vs. Regent
Wednesday, Dec. 21 –  vs. UC Santa Barbara (in Phoenix, Ariz.)
Thursday, Dec. 29 – at Marshall
Saturday, Dec. 31 – at Southern Miss
Thursday, Jan. 5 – vs. Coastal Carolina
Saturday, Jan. 7 – at JMU
Thursday, Jan. 12 – vs. Georgia Southern
Saturday, Jan. 14 – vs. Troy
Thursday, Jan. 19 – at Coastal Carolina
Saturday, Jan. 21 – at Old Dominion
Thursday, Jan. 26 – vs. Georgia State
Saturday, Jan. 28 – vs. Arkansas State
Thursday, Feb. 2 – vs. Marshall
Saturday, Feb. 4 – vs. JMU
Thursday, Feb. 9 – at ULM
Saturday, Feb. 11 – at South Alabama
Thursday, Feb. 16 – vs. Texas State
Saturday, Feb. 18 – vs. Old Dominion
Wednesday, Feb. 22 – at Georgia State
Friday, Feb. 24 – at Georgia Southern