Four Mountaineers Earn All-MAC Honors

Furious Mountaineer Rally Comes Up Just Short at Michigan
November 6, 2019
Thursday, November 7th
November 6, 2019
Four Mountaineers Earn All-MAC Honors



CLEVELAND – Four Appalachian State University field hockey student-athletes earned All-Mid-American Conference honors, as the conference office announced on Wednesday. Juniors Annette Jarosz and Veerle Van Heertum notched First Team All-MAC honors, while senior Rachel Gaines and sophomore Friederike Stegen garnered Second Team All-MAC distinctions.
Four All-MAC honorees also marks a new program best. The Mountaineers had three All-MAC honorees in their first season in the MAC in 2017, comprising seniors Taylor Cimbalist, Savanna Sheridan and Rebecca McLean.
“I’m proud of these student-athletes for all of their hard work,” head coach Meghan Dawson said. “They continue to push the envelope on and off the field. I am glad that their work has been recognized within the conference among a group of other talented student-athletes.”
Juniors Van Heertum and Jarosz earn All-MAC honors for the second-straight season, where Van Heertum was named to the All-MAC First Team and Jarosz was named to the All-MAC Second Team in 2018. Gaines and Stegen garner All-MAC honors for the first time in their careers, becoming the sixth and seventh Mountaineers to earn an All-MAC designation in program history.
Van Heertum tied for first on the App State roster with six goals and 14 points, ranking ninth in the MAC in points, tied for seventh in goals and tied for ninth in game-winning goals (two). Jarosz tied for second in the Mid-American Conference in defensive saves, making five stops this year for the Mountaineers. Her 16 defensive saves in her career is the most for a Mountaineer in program history.
Stegen notches her first all-conference designation after recording six assists, two goals and 10 points during the regular season. The sophomore is tied for fifth in the MAC in assists and is one of three Mountaineers to tally 10 points or more this season. Gaines also earns her first All-MAC honor after posting six shutouts in the goal cage for App State this season. The senior ranks second in the MAC in goals against average (1.59) and save percentage (.784) and is tied for first in shutouts per game (.353).
Appalachian and its four award winners open postseason play Wednesday at noon against No. 7 seed Central Michigan in Oxford, Ohio. App State defeated the Chippewas 5-2 in Mt. Pleasant, Mich., earlier this season.
2019 All-MAC First Team (12 players due to ties)
Annette Jarosz (App State)
Veerle Van Heertum (App State)

Clara Rodriguez Seto (Kent State) 
Helena Cambra Soler (Kent State) 
Laila Richter (Kent State)
Luna Lopez (Longwood) 
Katie Wyman (Longwood) 
Leonor Berlie (Miami) 
Marie Gorner (Miami) 
Allie Grace Joyner (Miami) 
Kendall Ballard (Ohio)
Leah Warren (Ohio)
2019 All-MAC Second Team
Rachel Gaines (App State)
Friederike Stegen (App State) 

Sierra Jefferson (Ball State) 
Alice O’Hagan (Central Michigan)
Luisa Knapp (Kent State) 
Berta Jover Llorns (Kent State)
Sophia Loscher (Longwood)
Charlotte Wilm (Longwood)
Camila Duarte (Longwood) 
Karly Harwood (Longwood)
Jillian Shive (Ohio)
MAC Coach of the Year: Kyle DeSandes-Moyer (Kent State)

MAC Defensive Player of the Year: Katie Wyman (Longwood)

MAC Offensive Player of the Year: Kendall Ballard (Ohio)

MAC Freshman of the Year: Camila Duarte (Longwood)