FH: Van Heertum Named to NFHCA South Region Second Team

Tuesday, November 27th
November 26, 2018
Financial News
November 26, 2018
FH: Van Heertum Named to NFHCA South Region Second Team


GILBERT, Ariz. – Sophomore Veerle Van Heertum earned NFHCA Division I South Region Second Team honors, as the National Field Hockey Coaches Association office announced on Monday. 
Van Heertum’s honor adds to what was a breakout campaign for the Valkenswaard, Netherlands native. The sophomore also earned First Team All-MAC honors and was named to the MAC All-Tournament team earlier this season.
“Veerle has constantly kept growing from last year and really took on a major role within our team to not only produce on the field, but to also bring her teammates up with her,” head coach Meghan Dawson said. “It’s a tribute to her continued hard work. I’m incredibly proud of all her work and can’t wait to see what the future brings.” 
Van Heertum started all 21 games for Appalachian this season, finishing 2018 as the team leader in points (27), goals (11) and shots (50). The sophomore notched a point in seven of her final nine games, tallying 17 total points during that span.
The Mountaineers’ leading goal scorer helped propel Appalachian to the program’s first-ever MAC Tournament victories. App State defeated Central Michigan 5-2 in the opening round and then upset No. 3 seed Longwood 2-0 to advance to the semifinals. Van Heertum recorded two goals and an assist between the two triumphs.
In regular season competition, Van Heertum placed third in the MAC in points. The sophomore also ranked fourth in points per game (1.22) and tied for fourth in goals per game (0.50).
Van Heertum is one of 16 players from North Carolina to be named to an all-region team. She joins six players from Duke, five from UNC and four from Wake Forest. The sophomore tallied a goal and an assist against the Demon Deacons on Oct. 10. 

South Region First Team
Megan Anderson (Wake Forest)
Veerle Bos (Wake Forest)
Greta Ell (Virginia)
Julianne Grashoff (Wake Forest)
Ashley Hoffman (UNC)
Erin Huffman (Old Dominion)
Estelle Huffman (William & Mary)
Yentl Leemans (UNC)
Erin Matson (UNC)
Emily McNamara (VCU)
Agueda Moroni (Liberty)
Margaux Paolino (Duke)
Sammi Steele (Duke)
Rose Tynan (Duke)
Christie Van de Kamp (William & Mary)
Eva Van’t Hoog (UNC)
South Region Second Team
Veerle Van Heertum (Appalachian State)
Caroline Andretta (Duke)
Rebecca Birch (Old Dominion)
Jill Bolton (Liberty)
Ashley Dykema (Liberty)
Malin Evert (UNC)
Kimi Jones (William & Mary)
Colleen Norair (Virginia)
Shannon Pereira (VCU)
Rachel Robinson (Virginia)
Erin Scherrer (Duke)
Annie Snead (William & Mary)
Maite Sturm (VCU)
Anne Van Hoof (Wake Forest)
Leonie Verstraete (Longwood)
Jillian Wolgemuth (Duke)