FH: Van Heertum and Jarosz Earn All-MAC Honors

AP Entertainment
October 31, 2018
Financial News
October 31, 2018
FH: Van Heertum and Jarosz Earn All-MAC Honors


CLEVELAND — Sophomores Veerle Van Heertum and Annette Jarosz both garnered All-MAC honors for the first time in their App State careers. Van Heertum was named First Team All-MAC and Jarosz was named Second Team All-MAC, as the conference office announced on Wednesday. 

The pair of sophomores had breakout campaigns for the Mountaineers in 2018. Van Heertum started all 18 games for the Black and Gold and finished with 22 points, nine goals and 43 shots, all of which ranked first on the team. The Valkenswaard, Netherlands native notched a point in five of her final six regular-season games, tallying five goals and two assists during the impressive stretch. 

Jarosz served as a key member on App State’s back line throughout the season, playing 70 minutes or more in 16 of 18 contests. Jarosz led the the MAC with six defensive saves, recording a pair of stops during the final weekend of the regular season to place first in the category. The Elkridge, Md. native now has 11 defensive saves in her career, which ranks second in Mountaineers’ history. 

“Veerle and Annette have been critical to our success this season,” head coach Meghan Dawson said. “It’s amazing how much they have contributed being only sophomores. They have been part of our leadership group and have grown tremendously as people and players this year.”

Van Heertum placed third in the MAC in points and tied for third in goals scored. The sophomore also ranked fourth in points per game (1.22) and tied for fourth in goals per game (0.50). 

In Appalachian’s Mid-American Conference debut in 2017, three players earned All-MAC honors. A trio of seniors — Taylor Cimbalist, Savanna Sheridan and Rebecca McLean — were named to All-MAC teams. Cimbalist and Sheridan were selected to the first team while McLean was named to the second team. 

Appalachian and its two award winners will square off against No. 7 seed Central Michigan on Wednesday at noon in Oxford, Ohio. Fans can watch all MAC Tournament games for free through the conference website. 
First Team All-MAC
Veerle Van Heertum (Appalachian State)
Anya Eicher (Ball State)
Mary Crumlish (Kent State)
Clara Rodriguez Seto (Kent State)
Berta Jover Llorens (Kent State)
Luna Lopez (Longwood)
Leonie Verstraete (Longwood)
Paula Portugal (Miami)
Leo Berlie (Miami)
Mariona Heras (Miami)
Emma Eggleston (Ohio)
Second Team All-MAC
Emma Bressler (Kent State)
Noor Breedijk (Miami)
Helena Cambra Soler (Kent State)
Jillian Shive (Ohio)
Leah Warren (Ohio)
Rachel Pereira (Ball State)
Annette Jarosz (Appalachian State)
Olivia Wawrzyniak (Longwood)
Estel Roig (Miami)
Audrey Tabor (Ball State)
Maddie Passarella (MIA) / Katie Wyman (Longwood)

2018 MAC Coach of the Year
Inako Puzo (Miami)

2018 MAC Defensive Player of the Year
Mariona Heras (Miami)

2018 MAC Offensive Player of the Year
Paula Portugal (Miami)

2018 MAC Freshman of the Year
Luna Lopez (Longwood)