Election News

Thursday, February 22nd
February 21, 2018
AP Newswatch
February 22, 2018
Election News


Candidates have one more week to file for Local office, prior to the noon February 28th deadline. Yesterday, (Tues), Republican Incumbent Jonathan C. Jordan filed for a fifth term  as the N. C. House Representative for District 93, which includes Ashe and Watauga Counties. Democrat Ray Russell filed for the seat earlier. In the N.C. State Senate District 45 race, Republicans Shirley Blackburn Randleman and Deanna Marie Ballard along with Democrat Brandon Lynn Anderson have filed. Republican Incumbent Virginia Foxx will face Cortland J. Meader Jr. in the Primary. Jenny Marshall is the lone Democrat to file for U.S. House. Republican Tom E. Horner is seeking re-election for District 34 District Attorney.


In Local Races…Republicans Stephen Mochen, B. Phil Howell and James “Jimmy” Hendrix, along with Democrat J.E. “Bucky” Absher have filed for Ashe County Sheriff.


For County Commissioner…three Republicans, William Sands, Todd McNeill and Wayne Osborne have filed.


Republican Pam Barlow is seeking re-election for Clerk of Superior Court and Democratic Incumbent Deaett Roten has filed for Register of Deeds.