Clifton Duck Named To Jim Thorpe Award Watch List

AP Sports
July 23, 2018
Financial News
July 23, 2018
Clifton Duck Named To Jim Thorpe Award Watch List


BOONE, N.C. — ­­The preseason watch list for the 2018 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award, which is given to the best defensive back in college football, includes Appalachian State junior Clifton Duck.
Named a second-team preseason All-American by Street and Smith, Duck is tied for first place nationally with 11 interceptions since the start of the 2016 season. In the same time frame, according to the PFF College Football site, he leads FBS defensive backs by allowing a passer rating of just 50.4 when targeted with a throw.
A Charlotte, N.C., native, Duck had five interceptions as a true freshman in 2016, when he was named to a pair of Freshman All-America Teams. He added six more interceptions last season to go along with his 50 tackles and one sack as a sophomore.
The 2018 Paycom Jim Thorpe Award recipient will be announced Dec. 6 at The Home Depot College Football Awards. The Paycom Jim Thorpe Award commemorative banquet will be held Feb. 5 in Oklahoma City.

Jim Thorpe Award Watch List
Dravon Askew-Henry, Sr., West Virginia
DeAndre Baker, Sr., Georgia
Kris Boyd, Sr., Texas
Blace Brown, Sr., Troy
Kyron Brown, Sr., Akron
T.J. Carter, So., Memphis
Justin Clifton, Sr., Arkansas State
Lukas Denis, Sr., Boston College
D’Cota Dixon, Sr., Wisconsin
David Dowell, Jr., Michigan State
Clifton Duck, Jr., Appalachian State
Mike Edwards, Sr., Kentucky
Jordan Fuller, Jr., Ohio State
Kyle Gibson, Sr., Central Florida
Mark Gilbert, Jr., Duke
Malik Grant, Jr., Marshall
Lavert Hill, Jr., Michigan
Javon Hagan, Jr., Ohio
Tyler Horton, Sr., Boise State
Michael Jackson, Sr., Miami-FL
Jah’Shawn Johnson, Sr., Texas Tech
Jaquan Johnson, Sr., Miami-FL
Shelton Lewis, Sr., Florida Atlantic
Julian Love, Jr., Notre Dame
Iman Marshall, Sr., USC
Byron Murphy, So., Washington
Kekoa Nawahine, Jr., Boise State
Delvon Randall, Sr., Temple
Taylor Rapp, Jr., Washington
J.R. Reed, Jr., Georgia
Amik Robertson, So., Louisiana Tech
Marvell Tell III, Sr., USC
Greedy Williams, So., LSU
Andrew Wingard, Sr., Wyoming
Jalen Young, Sr., Florida Atlantic