Delph Named NABC First-Team All-District

Mountaineer Spring Tour Set for March 28-April 7
March 16, 2022
Financial News
March 17, 2022

Delph Named NABC First-Team All-District


BOONE, N.C. — After putting together one of the most impressive scoring seasons in program history, App State senior guard Adrian Delph has been named first-team All-District by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).


The All-District honors are voted on by NABC-member coaches across NCAA Division I. Delph made the All-District 23 first team, which is comprised of Sun Belt Conference schools.


The Gastonia, N.C., native is the sixth player in school history to earn NABC All-District honors, including two-time recipients Donald Sims (2010 and 2011) and Frank Eaves (2015 and 2016) as well as Omar Carter (2011), Ronshad Shabazz (2018) and Justin Forrest (2020). Delph is the third Mountaineer to be named first-team All-District, joining Sims and Eaves with that distinction.


Starting all 34 games this season, Delph averaged 17.7 points and 5.4 rebounds for an App State squad that won 19 games and advanced to postseason play for the second consecutive season. His 105 3-pointers were second-most in a season in program history, while he also finished top 10 in the school record books in single-season points (602 – sixth) and field goals (208 – fifth).


Delph’s 19.0 scoring average in Sun Belt games was third-best in the league, as he helped the Mountaineers to their best conference record (12-6) and finish (second) since joining the Sun Belt.


He was a consistent scoring machine all season, reaching double figures in 32 of 34 games. The only games he did not reach double figures were when he played limited minutes against Boyce and Erskine. He scored a career-high 39 points against NCAA Tournament team Delaware in November and poured in 20 or more on 10 occasions.


Delph was also named first-team All-Sun Belt this season.


NABC All-District 23 Teams

First Team
David Azore – UT Arlington
Jordan Brown – Louisiana
Adrian Delph – App State
Charles Manning Jr. – South Alabama
Norchad Omier – Arkansas State

Second Team
Caleb Asberry – Texas State
Jay Jay Chandler – South Alabama
Vince Cole – Coastal Carolina
Essam Mostafa – Coastal Carolina
Efe Odigie – Troy

Coach of the Year

Terrence Johnson – Texas State